Medicine: Clinical and Research

Name:  Katerina Akassoglou, PhD
Email: Katerina.Akassoglou@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
School: Medicine
Current professional interest areas: neurobiology, pharmacology, immunology, imaging, multiple sclerosis
 
Name: Julienne Angeles, MD
Email: Julienne.Angeles@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Resident Physician
School: Medicine

Name: Mark Ansel, PhD
Email: Mark.Ansel@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Associate Professor in Residence
School: Medicine

Name: Diane Barber, PhD
Email: diane.barber@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Professor and Chair
School: Medicine

Name:  Joel M Barish, MD
Email:  jmbarish@gmail.com
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title:  Associate Professor, Medicine
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Retired, voluntary teacher

Name:  Anthony (Jim) James Barkovich, MD
Email:  James.Barkovich@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Normal and abnormal brain development
"The major requirements for success in academics are hard work and thick skin"

Name:  Claire D. Brindis, Dr. P. H.
Email: Claire.Brindis@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor and Director, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies
School:   Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  health care reform; adolescent and women's health; reproductive health issues; program evaluation; policy evaluation; patient engagement
"Mentoring is key --- and taking even some small risks to build confidence will help to open a number of doors previously unanticipated."
 
Name: Dan Ciccarone, MD, MPH
Email: Daniel.Ciccarone@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Professor
School: Medicine

Name:  Crystal S Conn, PhD
Email: Crystal.Conn@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Postdoctoral Scholar
Professional Title: Postdoctoral Scholar
School: Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Oncology/Cancer Biology: Translational Reprogramming during Cancer
"Explore your options till you know what it is you want. Then do it."
 
Name: Kelly M Cordoro, MD
Email:  Kelly.Cordoro@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Associate Professor of Dermatology and Pediatrics
School: Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Pediatric dermatology, public speaking and education.
"Work hard, remain enthusiastic, come early, stay late, and be open and honest. If you are intrinsically motivated, authentic, and have excellent work ethic- you can accomplish anything!"

Name: Charles Craik, PhD
Email: Charles.Craik@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Professor
School: Medicine

Name: Richard Feng, MD
Email: Richard.Feng@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Resident
Professional Title:  Assistant Clinical Professor
School:  Medicine, Other -- Langley Porter
Current professional interest areas:  Underserved populations
"It's okay to take time to take care of yourself."
 
Name:  Donna M Ferriero, MD
Email:  Donna.Ferriero@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Chair Pediatrics
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  newborn brain injury

Name:  Robyn R Gershon, PhD
Email:  Robyn.Gershon@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor
School:   Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Disaster Science, Occupational and Environmental Health
"Be as independent as you can be. Use your advisors time very very wisely and seek out multiple mentors."
 
Name: Ralph Gonzales, MD, MSPH
Email: Ralph.Gonzales@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Associate Dean
School: Medicine

Name: Michael Harper, MD, 
Email:  Michael.Harper@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Professor
School: Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Student advising; geriatrics education
" I wish I had known to seek out mentorship much earlier in my training"

Name: Andrea R Hasenstaub, PhD
Email:  Andrea.Hasenstaub@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine, Graduate Academic: -- Neurosciences
Current professional interest areas:  Neuroscience
"Don't worry about not being able to afford the right clothes. No one cares if your clothes come from Goodwill. Worry about your deportment, table manners, and word use. People will judge you on them, consciously or not, and hey, those you can improve for free."

Name: Michelle L Hermiston, MD, PhD
Email:  Michelle.Hermiston@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Associate Professor
School:  Medicine, Graduate Academic
Current professional interest areas:  Pediatric Hematology/Oncology; basic and translational research in autoimmune disease, hyperinflammatory diseases, chemotherapy resistance, leukemia and lymphoma
"Asking is free. People in academic settings are very interested in helping you to succeed."

Name: Ryan D. Hernandez, PhD
Email: Ryan.Hernandez@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Assistant Professor
School: Medicine

Name:  Thomas K Hunt, MD + Honorary Degrees
Email:  Thomas.Hunt@ucsfmedctr.org
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor emeritus and MD
School:   Medicine
Current professional interest areas:     Despite retired status, I am active in research and writing. I won the Graduate School Mentorship award--forget what year.
"I found that there was more help out there than I knew how to access. My Sister graduated from Eastman School of music, and I did Harvard BA and MD thanks largely to encouragement from parents and help from teachers in persisting and being unafraid to aim high. I had two lives, one before Harvard and one After."

Name: Sarah Janssen, MD, PhD, MPH
Email: Sarah.Janssen@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Assistant Professor
School: Medicine

Name: Paula I. Johnson, PhD, MPH
Email: JohnsonP@obgyn.ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Postdoctoral Scholar
School: Medicine

Name:  Michelle Ko, MD, PhD
Email:  Michelle.Ko@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Postdoctoral Scholar
Professional Title:  Primary Care Research Fellow
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas: Health disparities, healthcare safety net systems, intersection between social context and health services delivery and policy
"I'm not a first gen college graduate in my family, but mentored first gen undergraduate and medical students at UCLA. What I wish I had known was that other (more advantaged, non-first-gen) students really benefit by having many more social connections with university faculty (often, this is part of how they were admitted to the program), and first gen students need strong advocates to create these connections."

Name: Jessica Lao, PhD
Email: Jessica.Lao@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Postdoctoral Scholar
School: Medicine

Name: Phuoc V Le,, MD, MPH
Email: ple@medicine.ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Global Health
 
Name: Sophia Le, DO
Email:  Sle@fresno.ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:   Resident
Professional Title:  Physician
School:  Other -- Fresno psychiatry residency program

Name: Marguerita Lightfoot, PhD
Email:  Marguerita.Lightfoot@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas: HIV/AIDS, Technology, interventions, prevention, adolescents and youth
"You're not just a receptacle for information. You are an active participant in knowledge generation. There are not right or wrong answers and growth comes from challenging the information you are given."

Name: Carina Marquez, MD
Email:  Carina.Marquez@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Global health, HIV, tuberculosis
 
Name: Alma Martinez, MD MPH
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title:  Health Sciences Clinical Professor
School: Medicine

Name: Theodore Miclau, MD
Email: Theodore.Miclau@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Professor and Vice Chair
School: Medicine

Name: Evelyn Mok-Lin, MD
Email:  Evelyn.Mok-Lin@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Infertility

Name: Sandra Y Moody, MD
Email: Sandra.Moody@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Associate Clinical Professor
School: Medicine

Name: Jo Marie Munnich, MD
Email: JoMarie.Munnich@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Clinical Professor
School: Medicine
 
Don Ng, MD
Role at UCSF:  Health Sciences Clinical Professor
School: Medicine

Name: Sue Noworolski,  PhD
Email: Susan.Noworolski@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Associate Professor
School: Medicine

Name:  Benjamin E Padilla, MD
Email:  Benjamin.Padilla@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty, Alumnus
Professional Title: Assistant Professor of Surgery
School:   Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Pediatric Surgery- pediatric tumor, congenital defects and endocrine surgery

Name: Jennifer Park-Sigal, MD
Email:  Jennifer.Park@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Physician
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:   endocrinology

Name: Edgar Pierluissi, MD
Email:  Edgar.Pierluissi@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor of Medicine
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Hospital medicine, geriatrics, health systems leadership
"The value of seeking out mentors cannot be overstated."

Name:  Katie E Raffel, MD
Email:  Katie.Raffel@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  general internal medicine, disparities in health care

Name:  Rene Ramirez, MD
Email:  rramirez@fresno.ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty, UCSF Fresno
Professional Title:  Physician
School:  Medicine

Name:  Elise D Riley, PhD
Email:  Elise.Railey@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Associate Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Health disparities research
"Perseverance is 99% of surviving academia. Don’t give up; try a different approach until you find the one that works."

Name: Leticia Rolon, MD
Email: Leticia.Rolon@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Assisant Clinical Professor
School: Medicine

Name:  Philip Rosenthal, MD
Email: Prosenth@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Professor of Pediatrics & Surgery
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas: Hepatology, Liver disease in children
"Mentoring is critical to success"

Name:    Lydia V Santiago, PhD
Email: Lydia.Santiago@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Child Psychologist
School: Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Child trauma, acculturation, immigration and migration adjustment, cultural identity development
"The importance of developing mentoring relationships with professionals in your field but not connected to your current program or school."

Name:  Jason M Satterfield, PhD
Email:  Jason.Satterfield@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Professor of Clinical Medicine
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Health care disparities, substance use disorders, medical education, LGBT issues

Name: Suzaynn Schick, PhD
Email: Suzaynn.Schick@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: AssociateProfessor
School: Medicine
 
Name: Christopher Stauffer, MD
Email:  Christopher.Stauffer@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Resident
Professional Title:  Physician (Psychiatrist)
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  social neuroscience, psychotherapy, addiction medicine, LGBT medicine
"I wish I would have read Limbo: Blue Collar Roots, White Collar Dreams by Alfred Lubrano"

Name: Kimberly S Topp, PhD
Email: Kimberly.Topp@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Faculty
Professional Title: Professor and Chair
School: Medicine, Graduate Academic, Physical Therapy
Current professional interest areas:  Leadership, education, clinical research

Name: Saul A Villeda, PhD
Email:  saul.villeda@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF:  Faculty
Professional Title:  Assistant Professor
School:  Medicine
Current professional interest areas:  Neuroscience, Stem Cell Biology, Aging
"There is no "right" path in reaching your professional goal. Everyone has their own way of achieving this - for some it may be a linear path and for others there may be a few breaks in between. The important part is to keep moving forward."

Name: Ann C. Zovein, MD
Email: ann.zovein@ucsf.edu
Role at UCSF: Associate Professor
School: Medicine